N-P wins District tournament, sends 13 wrestlers to State

Thirteen Nashua-Plainfield boys wrestlers qualified on Saturday for the State Traditional Tournament as the Huskies won the Class 1A District 5 tournament at North Linn.

Huskies going to State are Jaydan Rinken (106), Nic Brase (113), Hayden Munn (120), Garret Rinken (126), Kendrick Huck (132), Kaden Wilken (138), Jackson Carey (152), Eli Kalainoff (160), Titus Evans (170), Tate White (182), Aiden Sullivan (195), Jackson Zwanziger (220) and Landon Pratt (285).

N-P scored 274.5 team points to take first in the District 5 tournament, followed by Lake Mills (173), Central Springs (129), Saint Ansgar (122.5), Newman Catholic (83), North Union (70.5), Northwood-Kensett (40), Rockford (22), West Fork (11) and Riceville (4),

To qualify for the individual State tournament, a wrestler must place first or second in their weight class at districts.


Sophomore Jayden Rinken (43-2) placed first at 106, defeating Lake Mills sophomore Lucas Oldenkamp (43-2) by a 10-4 decision in the title match.

Sophomore Nic Brase (40-6) placed first at 113 by defeating Lake Mills senior Geraldo Vazquez (27-15) by a 9-0 major decision in the title match.

Junior Hayden Munn (36-14) took second at 120. Lake Mills sophomore Hayden Helgeson (37-7) defeated Munn by a 2-0 decision in the championship match.

Senior Garret Rinken (47-0) took first at 126.

Senior Kendrick Huck (32-9) took first at 132 by defeating Lake Mills freshman Steve Bradenburg (31-4) by a 1-0 decision.

Senior Kaden Wilken (34-16) took first at 138 by pinning Newman Catholic senior Pete Miller (22-8) at 3:39.

Freshman Devon Blanchard (21-18) placed third at 145.

Sophomore Jackson Carey (34-14) took second at 152. Central Springs senior Preston Prazak (41-2) defeated Carey by fall at 3:56.

Freshman Eli Kalainoff (36-14) took second at 160. Central Springs junior Rory Prazak II (36-8) defeated him by a 7-3 decision.

Junior Titus Evans (27-6) took first at 170 by defeating Saint Ansgar junior Regan Witt (30-5) by fall at 2:22.

Junior Tate White (30-12) took first at 182 by defeating Saint Ansgar senior Mikhail Meyer (20-19) by fall at 2:46.

Junior Aiden Sullivan (40-11) took first at 195 by defeating Saint Ansgar senior Tate Mayer (18-7) by fall at 1:07.

Senior Jackson Zwanziger (26-21) took second at 220. Lake Mills sophomore Wyatt Hanna (38-5) defeated him in the title match by fall at 1:12.

Senior Landon Pratt (17-11) took first at 285 by defeating Central Springs senior Colton O’Hern (31-13) by a 6-5 decision.


One thought on “N-P wins District tournament, sends 13 wrestlers to State

Comments are closed.