First round matchups announced for N-P wrestlers at State

Thirteen Nashua-Plainfield wrestlers will begin their pursuit of state championships on Wednesday at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines. The Class 1A first round begins at 9 a.m. Here are their opening matches:

Jayden Rinken

Sophomore Jayden Rinken (43-2), seeded no. 1 at 106, gets a bye in the first round. He then will take on no. 17 Kanaan Delagardelle (21-12), a sophomore at Don Bosco or no. 16 Caleb Wisecup (30-10), a junior from Ogden.

Nic Brase

Sophomore Nic Brase (40-6), no. 6 at 113, gets a first round bye. He then will face the winner of no. 11 Caleb Swedin (37-3), a freshman at Graettinger or no. 22 Landen Frost (22-16), a freshman from Wapsie Valley.

Hayden Munn

Junior Hayden Munn (36-14), no. 19 at 120, will face no. 14 Kellen Oliver (28-15), sophomore from Riverside, in the first round.

Garrett Rinken

Senior Garret Rinken (47-0), no. 1 at 126, gets a bye in the first round. He then will get either no. 17 Brady Clark (28-14), a sophomore from Sigourney-Keota, or no. 18 Aiden Golston (35-7), a junior from Moravia.

Kendrick Huck

Senior Kendrick Huck (32-9), no. 7 at 132, gets a bye in the first round. He will then face either no. 10 Holden Mathis (47-4), a junior at MFL MarMac, or no. 23 Hunter Wernli (35-14), a sophomore at North Mahaska.

Kaden Wilken

Senior Kaden Wilken (34-16), no. 12 at 138, will take on no. 21 Keyton Remsberg (25-14), a junior at South Hamilton.

Jackson Carey

Sophomore Jackson Carey (34-14), no. 17 at 152, will face no. 16 Garret Miller (31-13), a sophomore from Wapsie Valley.

Eli Kalainoff

Freshman Eli Kalainoff (36-14), no. 18 at 160 will face no. 15 Rory Prazak II (36-8), a junior at Central Springs.

Titus Evans

Junior Titus Evans (27-6), no. 6 at 170, gets a first-round bye. He will take on either no. I’m 11 Michael Raines (36-9), a junior at New London, or no. 22 Kaden Stites (36-13), a senior at Alta/Aurelia.

Tate White

Junior Tate White (30-12), no. 12 at 182, will face no. 21 Ryan Funke (34-10), a senior at Beckman Catholic.

Aiden Sullivan

Junior Aiden Sullivan (40-11), no. 9 at 195, will take on no. 24 Rafe Gayer (18-17), a senior from Treynor.

Jackson Zwanziger

Senior Jackson Zwanziger (26-21), no. 24 at 220, will face no. 9 Brayden Tew (41-8), a senior at West Monona.

Senior Landon Pratt (17-11), no. 15 at 285, will take on no. 18 Derek Hilsenbeck, a junior from Wapsie Valley.


One thought on “First round matchups announced for N-P wrestlers at State

Comments are closed.