S-F’s Trainor wins varsity girls 5K at NICL conference meet; Oelwein runners set personal and season records

Hillary Trainor (File photo)

LA PORTE CITY — Hillary Trainor gave Sumner-Fredericksburg another championship title today.

The junior won the varsity girls 5K at the North Iowa Cedar League conference meet at the La Porte City Golf Course with a time of 19:19.6.

Jesup sophomore MacKenzie Wilson was second with a time of 19:21.4.

Denver freshman Avery Trunkhill placed third with a personal best time of 19:31.9, leading the Cyclones to a first-place team finish with 47 points.

Hudson was second with 75 points followed by Jesup (3rd, 128), Union La Porte City (4th, 136), S-F (5th, 144), Wapsie Valley (6th, 147), Grundy Center (7th, 153), Dike-New Hartford (8th, 196), Aplington-Parkersburg (9th, 202), Oelwein (10th, 226), South Hardin (11th, 255) and East Marshall (12th, 339).


Wapsie Valley’s top finisher broke the school record. Junior Ava Vandaele placed sixth with a personal best time of 19:51.3. Brylee Bellis placed 11th with a time of 20:42.26.


Oelwein’s top finisher was junior Libby Gearhart in 30th with a personal best time of 21:58.4

Oelwein’s squad had many personal best times today: Rachel Rulapaugh (22:25.7, 40th), Emma Driscoll (22:59.7, 51st), Jenna Bahe (23:00.9, 52nd.) Huskies setting their season best times were Alexa Berryman (23:18.6, 58th), Claire Prouty (24:29.6, 78th) and Merissa Rogers (25:51.8, 83rd).

(Click here for full results)