PHOTOS: Luft wins 100th as Charles City wrestlers compete at Battle of Waterloo

Lily Luft notched her 100th career win on Saturday as the Charles City girls wrestling team won one dual during the two-day Battle of Waterloo. The Comets defeated Dallas Center-Grimes 42-33.

Luft had five wins on the day int he 135-pound weight class, all by pin. Elizabeth Oleson at 140 won four matches by fall. Leah Stewart at 190 won three matches by fall and one by decision in a tiebreaker. Katelyn Miller at 125 and Destiney Kolheim at 155 each had three pins. Tegan Cavanaugh at 115, Kylie Blunt at 130 and Ava Thompson at 235 each had two pins.

Boys win 1 dual

The Charles City boys wrestling team won one dual at the Battle of Waterloo. The Comets defeated Waterloo East 38-30 on Saturday.

Individually, Talan Weber at 152 won six matches, four by fall. Jordan Young at 120 won four matches, three by pin. Carter Haberkorn at 106 and Colton Anderegg at 160 each won three matches by pin. Kayden Blunt at 182 won three matches, two by pins and one by technical fall. Trevor Peterson at 195 had two pins. And, Dylan LaPolice at 138 had one pin.

Boys team dual scores

Day 1

  • Cedar Rapids-Prairie 56, CC 21
  • Epworth 57, CC 21
  • Columbus Catholic 46, CC 28

Day 2

  • CC 38, Waterloo East 30
  • Denver 52, CC 27
  • Union 36, CC 36
Girls team dual scores

Day 1

  • Bettendorf 54, CC 30
  • CC 42, Dallas Center-Grimes 33

Day 2

  • North Scott 45, CC 36
  • East Buchanan 35, CC 27
  • Linn-Mar 48, CC 36

110 — Kyia Roths lost by fall to Emily See (Bettendorf), Leah Newell (Dallas Center), and Kate Seery (Linn-Mar).

115: Tegan Cavanaugh won by pin at 3:04 over Lauren Pulis (Linn-Mar) and at 1:54 over Kaitlyn Krum (East Buchanan). She lost by fall to Lauren Rogally (Bettendorf) and Marin Smith (North Scott) and by decision to Gracie Waage (Dallas Center).

120: Kalia Richard wrestled five matches. She lost by fall to Khylie Wainwright (North Scott), Josephine Bond (Dallas Center), Isabella Giza (Bettendorf), Sammi Isham (East Buchanan) and Ally Jelinek (Linn-Mar).

125: Katelyn Miller won three matches by fall — at 2:46 over Abby Osborn (Dallas Center), at 1:54 over Sierra Metcalf (North Scott) and in 49 seconds over Kara Knipper (East Buchanan). She lost by fall to Reese Roberts (Linn-Mar) and Qendresa (Nesa) Selmani (Bettendorf).

130: Kylie Blunt won two matches by fall — at 1:29 over Harmony Hansel (North Scott) and at 1:19 over Sabrina Macke (Dallas Center). She lost by fall to Alexys Petersen (Bettendorf), Destiny Krum (East Buchanan)and Ava Hofer (Linn-Mar).

135: Lilly Luft won five matches by fall — at 1:15 over Cecilia Hartley (Linn-Mar), at 1:25 over Miley Walz (East Buchanan), at 2:22 over Asia Jahangir (Dallas Center), in 24 seconds over Morgan Strief (Bettendorf) and in 21 seconds over Bryn Stephens (North Scott).

140: Elizabeth Oleson won four matches by fall — at 1:38 over Tabitha Skyles (North Scott), in 58 secconds over Emily Henigan (Dallas Center), in 21 seconds over Ayva Lopez (Bettendorf) and in 53 seconds over Hayley Setrum (Linn-Mar). Andelyn Cabalka (East Buchanan) won by fall over Oleson at 2:12.

155: Destiny Kolheim won three matches by pin — in 13 seconds over Melena Garcia (Linn-Mar), in 35 seconds over Mackenzie Sizemore (Dallas Center), and in 35 seconds over Victoria Rivera (Bettendorf). Jorie Hanenburg (North Scott) won am 8-1 decision over Kolheim (CHCI) (Dec 8-1). Kolheim also wrestled one match at 170. Brooklyn Graham of East Buchanan won by a 13-3 major decision.

170: Nyssa Salinas lost by fall to Maya Fritz (Dallas Center) and Reece Shrader (Bettendorf). Lydia Mueller lost by fall to Abby Allen (North Scott) and Rylie Bucklin (Linn-Mar).

190: Leah Stewart won four matches. She won by fall in 41 seconds over Madelyn Rose (North Scott), in 57 seconds over Halley Beaudet (Dallas Center), and at 1:31 over Delilah Maxfield (Bettendorf). She won an 8-7 decision in a tie breaker over Alyson Krum (East Buchanan).

235: Ava Thompson won by fall at 1:01 over Madison Andrews (North Scott) and at 1:07 over Trinity Young (Linn-Mar).


106: Carter Haberkorn won three matches by pin — at 3:17 over Ethan Schlichtmann (Epworth), at 1:11 over Devin Ayala (Waterloo East) and at 1:23 over Jericho Grimmett (Denver) (Fall 1:23). Haberkorn lost by technical fall to Dylan Munson (Cedar Rapids-Prairie) and fall to Brayden Bohnsack (Union). Haberkorn wrestled one match at 113. Joe Hackett (Columbus Catholic) won by fall.

120: Jordan Young won four matches. He had three pins over Francisco Mendoza-Diaz (Columbus Catholic) in 36 seconds, Cooper Habel (Epworth) at 2:48, and Connor Whitson (Waterloo East) at 1:07. Young won a 6-1 decision over Connor McLaughlin (Denver). He lost by fall twice, to Blake Gioimo (Cedar Rapids-Prairie) and Jace Hedeman (Union).

138: Dylan LaPolice won by fall at 3:14 over Georvon Tyler (Waterloo East). LaPolice lost by major decision to
Gavin Reed (Columbus Catholic) and by fall to Joe Hirsch (Epworth), Boden White (Denver), Wyatt Vlasek (Cedar Rapids-Prairie) and Keegan Ellsworth (Union).

145: Nathan Lopez won by 9-6 decision over Rigley Koch (Cedar Rapids-Prairie) and a 14-1 major decision over Jonathan Hackett. Jacob Vance won by fall at 3:00 over Brock Bergmeier (Union). Vance lost to Gavin McLaughlin (Denver) by major decision, Ryan Strong (Waterloo East) by decision and Jagger McCool (Epworth) by fall 5:25.

152: Talan Weber won six matches, four by fall. He pinned Justice Luke (Union) in 33 seconds, CJ Charles Schuman (Columbus Catholic) in 52 seconds, Xander Peterson (Denver) at 4:00 and Jake Umstead (Cedar Rapids-Prairie) at 4:34. He won a 9-8 decision over Nathan Casey (Epworth) and 12-6 decision over William Clark (Waterloo East).

160: Colton Anderegg won three matches, all by fall. He pinned Donald Tyler (Waterloo East) at 1:53, Ethan Harper (Columbus Catholic) in 20 seconds and Wyatt Walker (Union) at 1:08. He lost by decision to Logan Redig (Cedar Rapids-Prairie) and fall to Angello Wittenburg (Denver) and Nevin Pins (Epworth).

170: Carter Burkhardt lost by fall to Jay Petersen (Union), Maximus Magayna (Columbus Catholic), Drew Burds (Epworth), Gianni Speller (Waterloo East), Ethan Krabbenhoft (Denver) and Quinton Alexander (Cedar Rapids-Prairie).

182: Kayden Blunt won three matches. He won by technical fall, 20-4, over Demaris Henderson (Waterloo East). He pinned Henry Erie (Columbus Catholic) in 48 seconds and Hunter Anderson (Union) in 48 seconds. Austin Painter lost by fall to Tate Joens (Cedar Rapids-Prairie) and Logan Massey (Epworth).

195: Trevor Peterson won two matches. He pinned Wyatt Kramer (Union) at 1:00 and Hank Hynek (Cedar Rapids-Prairie) in 39 seconds. Peterson lost by pin to Carson Hartz (Columbus Catholic) and decision to Derek Hoerner (Epworth) and Brayden Peters (Waterloo East).

220: Ethan Peterson won two matches, both by pin. He pinned Collin Velky (Cedar Rapids-Prairie) in 49 seconds and Jake Murphy (Epworth) in 36 seconds.

285: Blake Wilson lost by fall to Cody Koepke (Denver), Jacob Klostermann (Epworth) and Carter Dawley (Cedar Rapids-Prairie).