R-R-MR joining Iowa Star Conference in 2024

Rudd-Rockford-Marble Rock is leaving the Top of Iowa Conference for the Iowa Star Conference beginning in the 2024-25 school year.

The R-R-MR School Board approved the change Monday night (Aug. 15, 2022).

” The board made the decision based on what they feel is in the best interest of our students,” Superintendent Todd Liechty wrote on the district’s Facebook page. “Currently, RRMR is the second smallest school in the Top of Iowa Conference and our students are struggling to compete. Joining the Iowa Star puts RRMR in the middle of the schools in terms of student enrollment. The board believes that our students will experience more success and thus have a better experience if we join this conference. The board discussed and understands that our travel distances will increase and felt the increase in travel distance is worth the opportunity for our students to be competitive.”

Iowa Star Conference members currently include:

Clarksville CSD
Colo-Nesco HS
Don Bosco Catholic High School
GMG Schools
Janesville CSD
Meskwaki High School
North Tama County Community Schools
Riceville Community Schools
Valley Lutheran
Waterloo Christian

The Top of Iowa Conference currently includes:

Bishop Garrigan
Central Springs
Eagle Grove
Forest City
Lake Mills
Newman Catholic
North Butler
North Iowa
North Union
Rockford Senior
St. Ansgar
West Fork
West Hancock