Five Elected to Iowa State University Extension and Outreach Floyd County Council

From the ISU Extension
Five Floyd County residents were elected to the Iowa State University Extension and Outreach Floyd County Council in the Nov. 6th general election. The new members are Jay Jung, Charles City; and Ryan Venz, Charles City.  Julie Knecht, Charles City;  Ben Rottinghaus, Charles City; and Sue Sedgwick, Charles City are members of the county extension council and were re-elected to a new four-year term. They will join current county extension council members Jacie Garden, Charles City; Karol Carpenter, Charles City; Bob Mondt, Charles City; and Valerie Bodensteiner, Marble Rock.
The new members will replace Bill Mead and John Ruzicka whose terms expire at the end of 2018. Council members elected to open seats will begin their terms in January.
“The extension council is the county’s governing body of Iowa State University Extension and Outreach. Extension council members hire county staff, manage the county extension budget of approximately $325,000 and help determine programming,” said Ben Rottinghaus, ISU Extension and Outreach Floyd County council chairperson. The county extension office is located at 112 N Main Street, Charles City, IA 50616. Learn more at
Elected council members and offices in every county uniquely position ISU Extension and Outreach to move the state forward. Last year more than 1 million people directly benefited from ISU Extension and Outreach programs. These programs help citizens solve critical issues affecting their lives. ISU Extension and Outreach and county extension councils together are building a strong Iowa.